The Fryderyk Chopin Competition for Young Pianists

The  Fryderyk Chopin Competition for Young Pianists was established in 2008 by the Georgian Music Competitions Fund with the support of the Embassy of Poland in Tbilisi. The competition is biannual and is open to the young pianists of 12 -16 years (including), from all regions ofGeorgia

The Fourth Fryderyk Chopin Competition for young pianists was held in Tbilisi, December 12-13, 2015. 11 musicians (between the ages of 12 and 16) from different regions of Georgia participated in the competition. The drawing of lots - December 11, at 11a.m. The competition consisted of one Round and took place on December 12 at the Recital Hall of the Tbilisi State Conservatoire. The award ceremony and the Gala Concert were held on December 13 at the Tbilisi State Conservatoire Grand Hall at 7.00 p.m.



1.  The competition consists of one round;
2. All competitors will bear the accommodation and travel expenses on their own;
3. The Competition is open to the public.
4. The program shall be performed from memory;
5. No changes in the submitted program will be accepted;
6. Actual timing of each work performed must be stated accurately and should correspond to the allotted time;
7. The order of performances in the Competition will be determined by drawing of lots;
8. All decisions of the Jury will be final and beyond appeal;
9. The Jury shall have the right not to award any of the prizes;
10. In the event of any recordings all rights belong to the Georgian Music Competitions Fund. 


Program (25-30 min):

1. One Etude by Chopin (Except for: op.10 N3,6; op.25 N7)

2. One or more pieces by Chopin

3. Piece by Georgian Composer (about 6 min.)



I Prize - 1500 GEL

II Prize – 800 GEL

III Prize – 500 GEL


Special Prizes:

“For Artistry”

“For the best performance of the work of a Georgian composer”

The Georgian Music Competitions Fund
Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Georgia

  • I prize – 1500 GEL – Giorgi Gigashvili
  • II prize – 800  GEL – Mariam Muchiashvili
  • III prize – 500 GEL– Sandro Gegechkori


  • Special prize – “For the best performance of the Georgian composer’s work” - Natia Machitadze
  • Special Prize - “For Artistry” – Mariam Kopaleishvili (Kutaisi). 


  1. Mariusz Sielski (Poland, Chairman)
  2. Revaz Tavadze
  3. Manana Doijashvili
  4. Nodar Nakaidze
  5. Edisher Rusishvili